Breaking Perfectionism

Napoleon Hill was right; you’ll never feel it’s the right time to start something.  Trying to make something “just right” can lead to a lifetime of procrastination and unhappiness.

This couldn’t be more true in marketing myself to potential clients.

The Perfectionism Issue

Is it bad to be too perfect?  I say yes.

Times when I think I’m being perfect, I’m actually practicing excellence. Excellence is a part of me; it’s part of the reason I produce high-quality work on my job, in college, etc…  overcoming procrastination, weight loss motivation

However, in marketing myself and my new venture, I’m trying to be perfect.  And I realize that trying to be too perfect in business start-up is my way of procrastinating to move forward.

These days, I’m growing tired of procrastinating.  I feel that for the first time in a long time, I’m ready to begin marketing myself.  I’ve created a marketing plan, and I’m sticking to it.  I’m doing things on my own, and it’s nerve-wrecking (lol), but exciting.

Continual metamorphosis

Another crucial piece of the business success puzzle is changing my mindset from that of an employee to an entrepreneur.  All the things that my manager does for me now, I must do for myself.

So different, but I’m up for it if it gives me my dream career.

Starting a home-based, online business has proven harder than I thought it would be; however, I like the idea of being able to coach and train people all over the United States, and being able to do more of what I like to do versus what I hate doing (i.e., administrative tasks, cleaning duties)

True, I am having to do the administrative thing, but as soon as I can, an assistant will be the first employee I hire 🙂

Can’t wait!!!

The Takeaway

Sometimes, perfectionism is your way of protecting yourself.  One example would be, “I want to lose weight first before I join a gym”, or “I have to quit smoking first, then I’ll start exercising.”

It’s never going to be the right time to start, but you have to start somewhere.  And when you do start, do whatever it takes to keep pushing forward.

Even if it means hiring a personal trainer, wellness coach, business coach, life coach, or other mentors.  If you want something bad enough, you’ll do what it takes to get it.

Something for us to think about next time we try to do everything “just right”…

Until next time!

Pamela Brown

www.pamelabrowncoaching.com

2 thoughts on “Breaking Perfectionism

Leave a Reply

